I don't believe in coincidence.  Our God is way too big for mere chance.   I decided that today would be a good day to come back to my webpage and actually add some things to it, since I have been writing a lot here lately.  Imagine my surprise when I log in and find that the last time I "blogged" was exactly--to the day--one year ago. I never posted that blog.  It was only a "draft."  Funny.  That's what my life has felt like the past few years--a lot of rough drafts in need of polishing.  I deleted that "draft," so that I could post today's.

I don't see it as just a coincidence that I have come back to blog a year to the date from my last attempt.  Maybe it isn't a profound moment of deep introspection or a life-altering event. Maybe it isn't anything for me to be shouting, "Hallelujah! about . . .

But maybe it is.  Maybe a chance to smile and soak  for a few all-too-brief-moments in the knowing of how amazing our God is and how He can make the insignificant significant are really the things I ought to be "Hallelujahing" about more often.  

Circumstances in our lives can change in a year's time, but He never does.  Hallelujah!  This is why we have joy and everlasting hope, no matter what happens in our lives.  When you know that the Author and Finisher of your faith is true to His Word, you can "Hallelujah!" about everything. It is true, sometimes I live with that strange disconnect between what I know to be true and what I am feeling in the moment.  Sometimes I don't feel like shouting, "Happy!" This is why His faithfulness is such a treasure!  He turns the world upside down by flipflopping hearts, one person at a time.  Imagine finding myself shouting, "Hallelujah!" when a few moments or weeks or even a year ago I was scraping to find something to shout about. That is what His presence often does in me day in and day out in large and small ways.  

Why am I shouting "happy" today?  Many of my troubles still nag me and new ones have been added, but He has given me something that only He could give.  He has given me joy in Him. I'll take every reminder of this gift I can get, and I am learning how to fight for it when the weight of this world tries to steal it from me. This is what it means, to me, to take up my cross and follow Him.  He's so worth it.  

James 1:17 (ESV) Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.






Leave a Reply.